Hellenic Cinema and Television School Stavrakos (HCTSS) Alumni Win the Special Prize at Cannes 2015!

Hellenic Cinema and Television School Stavrakos (HCTSS) graduate - director Yorgos Lanthimos - has won the Jury Prize in the 68th Cannes Film Festival for his movie “The Lobster”.  Since 1998, Yorgos Lanthimos is the first Greek director after Theo Angelopoulos to win a major award in the Cannes Film Festival. (Theo Angelopoulos’ won the Palme D’Or for “Eternity and a Day”.)

Despite all the obstacles that emerging Greek directors face today due to the lack of financial support, that comes as a result of the economic instability which has severely affected Greek national audiovisual industry, young artists don’t give up and still manage to find their way to the international film industry scene.

Another HCTSS graduate – Thimios Bakatakis – was the Director of Photography of the “The Lobster”. It will be true to say that this is a great encouragement for HCTSS to continue its mission to serve as the cradle of many future generations of groundbreaking artists.

(Press release from HCTSS)


Attached videos:


Hellenic Cinema and Television School Stavrakos, HCTSS, Alumni, Yorgos Lanthimos, Special Prize, 68th Cannes Film Festival
All rights reserved CILECT ® 2017. Read all the Terms of Use of the CILECT website. Programming by